When I first gave up meat over a decade ago, my knowledge of vegetarianism was pretty limited. I didn’t know any real life vegetarians (Lisa Simpson and Phoebe Buffay were the extent of available role models) and any online community was non-existent.
Following a vegetarian diet doesn’t simply mean cutting out meat. There are loads of other animal-based ingredients that sneak their way into all sorts of food and drink items that you may innocently assume are vegetarian-friendly. Continue reading “Is That Really Vegetarian? Sneaky Animal Ingredients”
When I first entered the realm of vegetarianism as a naive teen, I continued eating jelly lollies for a fair while, blissfully unaware that they contained ground up animal bones, ligaments and tendons. Mmm, good ol’ gelatine… Continue reading “Gelatine-Free Jellies – For Vegetarians with a Sweet Tooth!”